MS Dhoni is usually spot-on with the DRS (Decision Review System), but even the best can sometimes get it wrong. DRS has somehow become an acronym to Dhoni Review System, which just goes to show how good he is with taking the reviews. But in the 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka, when Kuldeep Yadav was the bowler, Dhoni kind of missed out. The batsman in question was Sadeera Samarawickrama and the incident took place in the all-important decider at Vizag.
So, here is what transpired:
Sri Lanka was 83 for 1 after 13.4 overs, Kuldeep Yadav was bowling to Samarawickrama. It was a ball that dragged Samarawickrama to come and play on the front foot. He defended and missed after which there was an instant appeal. The umpire turned down the appeal. There was a long chat between Rohit Sharma — at first slip — and MS Dhoni, the wicketkeeper. But it seemed Dhoni was unsighted and that is why Rohit did not opt for the review. But replays showed that the ball was clipping more than 50 percent of the top of leg stump.
In such a case, if Dhoni would have opted for DRS, the third umpire most probably would have overturned the on-field umpire’s decision and declared Samarawickrama out.
And, how close was that? https://t.co/gMguTrdj0v
— Baahubali (@bahubalikabadla) December 17, 2017
Sadeera departed soon after getting a lifeline for 43. He truly could not cash in on the big let off.
As we speak, Sri Lanka has put on a strong foundation for a big score. They are 168 for 4 after 28 overs. Tharanga missed out on what would have been a memorable century; he went for 94 to an MS Dhoni stumping.