MS Dhoni becomes 11th Indian cricketer to receive Padma Bhushan Award. Here's the full list of cricketers

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has already received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2007 and Padma Shri award in 2009

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the former Indian captain, has been awarded the third-highest civilian award in India, the Padma Bhushan. The Indian wicketkeeper is the 11th Indian cricketer to receive this honour. The 36-year-old made his international debut in the year 2004 against Bangladesh and currently regarded as one of the best wicketkeepers in the world.

In 2007, Dhoni was appointed as the captain of the Indian team. He led India to glory and won the first-ever T20I world cup held in South Africa. Later he turned out to be the most successful Indian skipper and won the ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013. It was under him that India topped the Test rankings.

ALSO READ: IPL Auction 2018: Date, time and players list all you need to know

Dhoni has already received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2007 followed by the Padma Shri award in 2009.  Here’s the full of all those cricketers who have received this national honour in the past:

Sl No Players Year
1 CK Naydu 1956
2 Sir Vijay Anand Gajapathi Raju 1958
3 Vinoo Mankad 1973
4 Sunil Gavaskar 1980
5 Raja Bhalindra Singh 1983
6 Lala Amar Nath 1991
7 DB Deodhar 1991
8 Kapil Dev 1991
9 Chandu Borde 2002
10 Rahul Dravid 2013
11 MS Dhoni 2017


‘Dhoni was the unanimous choice’ of the BCCI members for this honour. According to several media reports, earlier, while nominating his name, the Indian cricket board’s acting president CK Khana stated that he is one of the greatest cricketers in contemporary cricket .

ALSO READ: Here’s how The Great Khali’s wrestling academy is changing lives of girls

Apart from MS Dhoni, Srikanth Kidambi (Badminton), Nikhil Advani (Billiards/Snooker), Saikhom Mirabai Chanu (weightlifting), Somdev Devvarman (Tennis) and Murlikant Petkar (Swimming) are the other sportspersons who received this honour.