KL Rahul May Not Be Scoring Big, But He's Still Winning Hearts With His Sportsmanship

If only Ricky Ponting had done it a decade ago

KL Rahul has been struggling with the bat for a while now, something even his ardent fans will agree to. Rahul has been given a long rope to hold on to, despite his inability to give India a decent start. Some would say he ought to be on the bench for a while, but even they would agree that his effort during Day 3 of the Sydney Test is worth applause.

In the 15th over of Australia’s first innings, Marcus Harris miscued an aerial shot towards long on, when Ravindra Jadeja was bowling. Rahul was on mid-on position and dived forward to take the catch. The ball reached his hands on the bounce which was quite evident in the replay, but not to the naked eye.

The Indian had started celebrating the much-needed breakthrough early in Day 3, but the 26-year-old signaled that hadn’t caught the ball in time. Though he looked visibly unhappy with himself for dropping, his honesty got him an applause from the crowd.

Veteran umpire, Ian Gould, gave him a thumps up as well, for showing true sportsmanship. Often players wait for the third umpire’s decision in cases like these, but Rahul signaled in an instant that the ball had not carried through. The commentators appreciated the opener’s honesty as well.

Here’s how Twitter saluted his honesty:

But he chose not to do it

One more Ricky Ponting reference

You know you are doing something right when the umpire appreciates you

Yes, it is

Some find negativity in everything

Bit cheeky

The Karnataka batsman is working hard to get back to score big. He’s made just 57 runs from 5 innings, unfortunately. However, he can be seen working on his technique in the nets right after losing his wicket.

ALSO READ: Rishabh Pant Has A Viral Chant Dedicated To Him. Heard It Yet?