Jasprit Bumrah and ‘no ball’ off a wicket have almost become a synonym now. It started in T20 World Cup 2016 when he took the wicket of Lendl Simmons off a no ball. It was followed by a blunder in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 final.
This time Bumrah took the wicket of England skipper Joe Root on Day 1 of the fourth Test.
Root was plumb in front of the wicket. Umpire did rule in the favour of India but skipper Virat Kohli opted for Decision Review System (DRS) seeing how confident Bumrah is. The routine no ball check before the review showed that Bumrah had overstepped which resulted in India wasting a review.
Kohli was visibly disappointed with Bumrah bowling a no ball as Root’s wicket is always crucial. The no ball did not prove costly for India as Ishant Sharma took his wicket after three overs.
Here are a few reactions to the 24-year-old’s no ball wicket:
Jasprit Bumrah is a fine cricketer, and in the middle of an excellent spell, but he is letting himself and his team down too often with these no-balls.
— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) August 30, 2018
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) August 30, 2018
No ball is to bumrah what Netflix is to Radhika.
— Pun of God (@Punofgod) August 30, 2018
And after no-Ball Root won’t get out now. History has suggested that batsman who survived Bumrah’s no-ball wicket, remains not out.#ENGvIND
— Mr. A (@cricdrugs) August 30, 2018
Kapil Dev went through 16 yrs of Cricket without bowling a No Ball, Bumrah can’t go without 16 days.
— Gappistan Radio (@GappistanRadio) August 30, 2018
Umpire had a shocker there. That was plumb. I Doubt if Root would have reviewed this had he been given out. No ball wouldn’t have made a difference then but
Someone plz gift Great Khali’s shoes to Bumrah. He never learns #ENGvIND
— Saurabh Shinde (@imsgshinde) August 30, 2018
Bumrah and NoBall wickets still a better love story than DDLJ and kuch kuch hota hai put together #ENGvIND
— sagar k (@imsagarr_k) August 30, 2018
— Mohammed Nawaz (@nawaz_here) August 30, 2018
On hindsight, Jennings should’ve reviewed that LBW knowing Bumrah’s penchant for overstepping #ENGvIND
— Rajesh (@RaMonJesh) August 30, 2018
— RK (@rocktheworld62) August 30, 2018
World moves along on different issues, while Bumrah continues to take wickets on No-Balls.
— Varadraj (@varadadya) August 30, 2018
Bumrah is a legend he overstepped so that Ishant Sharma can get Root as his 250th test wicket. Respect #ENGvIND
— Gajender Singh (@gajender00) August 30, 2018
Bumrah may end up being the bowler with most international wickets off no balls.