Women's IPL: BCCI Names Smriti Mandhana & Harmanpreet Kaur As Captains Of IPL-Style Game

The one-off IPL-style women's T20 game will be played on May 22 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai

A week before the first-ever IPL-style Women’s T20 match, the Board Of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced names of the two captains. The Indian cricket board has named Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur to lead the teams which will have some of the most talented women cricketers from around the world including Australia, New Zealand and England.

According to a statement released by the BCCI, the board will be hosting the T20 Challenge to provide the women’s game with a platform alongside the Indian Premier League.

ALSO READ: Two Playoff Spots Left, Five Teams In Contention. Which Team Will Make It?

When and where will the one-off game be played?
The one-off IPL-style women’s T20 game will be played on May 22 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. After this match, the first IPL 2018 playoff game will commence at the same venue from 19:00 hours.

What are the teams?
As learned from the earlier reports, this special T20 game will be played between two teams named the IPL XI and the BCCI XI. The full squads are yet to be announced and it is yet to be announced who among Harman and Smriti will lead which team.

ALSO READ: RCB Bowls Out KXIP For 88, Fans Call For Change In Captaincy!

Earlier it was learned from reports that a pool of 30 women cricketers—20 Indians and 10 foreigners—will train at the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai ahead of the one-off game. The IPL governing council led by Rajiv Shukla has given the green signal to this event after Indian women’s cricket team’s final appearance in the World Cup last year.

ALSO READ: Umesh Yadav Breaks Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s Proud RECORD Against KXIP!

As far as the payments of the cricketers are concerned, they will be paid the match fees along with a daily allowance while a business class return ticket will be provided to the overseas cricketers.