IPL 2018: Shreyas Iyer Creates Record On Captaincy Debut, Does What Kohli, Dhoni Couldn't Do

IPL 2018, DD vs KKR: Delhi Daredevils Shreyas Iyer starred on his captaincy debut breaking a few records

Shreyas Iyer made his captaincy debut in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 leading Delhi Daredevils (DD). Iyer became the fourth youngest captain in IPL history after Virat Kohli, Steven Smith and Suresh Raina. There was a lot of pressure on the 23-year-old as he replaced Gautam Gambhir as the captain of the side and also dropped him from the team to pick an out-of-form Vijay Shankar.

Iyer capitalised on a fiery start given by DD openers Prithvi Shaw and Colin Munro. Iyer came in to bat and started taking on the bowlers straight away. He scored freely as if there was no pressure on him. He scored an unbeaten 93 run-innings off 40 balls. In his innings, he struck 3 fours and 10 humongous sixes.

He struck Shivam Mavi for a total of 28 runs in the last over. He took DD to a huge score hitting four sixes in an over at Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.

Here’s the list of records Iyer set in his innings –

1. Iyer becomes the first IPL captain to hit 10 sixes in an innings.

2. Iyer scored the most number of runs on IPL captaincy debut going past Aaron Finch’s record of 64 runs against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in 2013.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018, DD vs KKR: Shivam Mavi Gives ‘Abusive’ Send-Off To Colin Munro – WATCH

3. Iyer joined the elite list of IPL captains who scored a half-century on captaincy debut. Adam Gilchrist, Murali Vijay and Finch are the other three.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018, DD vs KKR: Prithvi Shaw Copies MS Dhoni, Plays Helicopter Shot For Six— WATCH

The new DD skipper also took the team to their second-highest IPL score in an innings (219 for 4 vs KKR). The highest score by DD in IPL is 231/4 against KXIP which they scored in 2011.