IPL 2018, Prize List: Winners To Get 3 Times More Than PSL Winner's Amount. Here're The Details

IPL 2018: Right ahead of the first clash between the Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings, the prize money for the winning team was announced

Finally, the wait of all the Indian cricket fanatics is over as the eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to begin on April 7. The opening game will be played between the defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) and the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) who are making a comeback in this cash-rich tournament after a period of two years. And ahead of the first match of this season, the prize money for the winner of this tournament has been announced by the IPL committee.

The winner of this tournament will be awarded a whopping sum of Rs 20 crore. The runner-up team will bag a prize money of Rs 12.5 crore while the two teams at the third and fourth place will receive Rs 8.75 crore each.

ALSO READ: MI v CSK, Match 1: How Kerala Bowler KM Asif’s Luck By Chance Got Him Into CSK

ALSO READ: IPL 2018, MI v CSK, Match 1: MS Dhoni Can Break These Records Against MI!

Now after watching these figures, if we compare the IPL’s prize money with that of Pakistan Super League (PSL), the difference is jaw-dropping. PSL recently awarded its winner, Islamabad United, a sum of $ 1Million. Which means, Rs 6.49 crores! Even less than the 3rd and 4th ranked teams in IPL. In other words, 3 times more than the PSL winner’s amount. Moreover, the total PSL budget for the prize money is $3.5 Million (Rs 22.7 crores) while IPL showers a total of Rs 50 crore ($7.7 Million) on the table toppers.

We hope, it’s clear why the IPL is known as the biggest cash-rich tournament in the world.

ALSO READ: CSK Releases New Foot-Tapping IPL Anthem; Dhoni’s Whistle Is Amazing – WATCH

The first match will be played at the Wankhede stadium where the home team, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, will welcome the MS Dhoni’s CSK.

Ahead of the first clash, the opening ceremony will commence at the same venue where a number of Bollywood actors with the likes of Hrithik Roshan, Varun Dhawan, Jacqueline Fernandez and Tamanna Bhatia are scheduled to perform.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018, Opening Ceremony: Full Performer List, Where To Watch, Timings, All You Need To Know

Also, after a span of 10 years, the matches will be broadcast on Star India network in 6 different languages. The BCCI has roped in almost 100 commentators from across the world for this season.

    Related Posts
    Delhi Govt Asks 575 Private Schools To Refund Excess Fees, Gives Them One-Week’s Time
    Delhi Govt Asks 575 Private Schools To Refund Excess Fees, Gives Them One-Week’s Time

    The schools have been granted a week's time to comply with the order which also includes disbursal of salaries to teachers as per rules

    Today In Aww So Cute: 11-Year-Old Kolkata Boy Rescues Turtle
    Today In Aww So Cute: 11-Year-Old Kolkata Boy Rescues Turtle

    The world seems to be a better place when you see people caring for animals. And when it is a kid saving a turtle, your faith in humanity is restored. Last week, an 11-year-old boy named Asmit Biswas was with his father when he saw a turtle at a roadside shop at the Chanpatala market […]