IPL 2018 Final: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Lungi Ngidi Create Unique Record In IPL History

IPL 2018 Final, CSK vs SRH: Chennai Super Kings need 179 runs to lift the IPL trophy for the third time

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) lead pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Chennai Super Kings’ (CSK) right-arm fast bowler Lungi Ngidi entered the Indian Premier League (IPL) record books after they became the first two bowlers to bowl a maiden over in an IPL final.

Both the bowlers achieved this feat during IPL 2018 final between CSK and SRH at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 27.

Ngidi bowled 6 dot balls in his second over as SRH skipper Kane Williamson found it difficult to get the timings and placement right. Ngidi returned with figures of 26/1 in his quota of four overs as SRH posted a competitive 178/6 in the summit clash. Kane Williamson top-scored for SRH with 47.

In reply, SRH started off with the attack as Bhuvneshwar bowled the maiden over as CSK’s opener Shane Watson played with caution. Bhuvi bowled every ball on target and didn’t allow the batsman to spread his arms.

Moreover, CSK batsmen found it difficult to score even a single run in first 10 deliveries bowled by Kumar.

In his 3 overs so far, Bhuvi has bowled 13 dots.