IPL 2018: Chennai Super Kings Broke A Record You Probably Didn't Know About — Most Sixes In A Season

IPL 2018: Chennai Super Kings batsmen struck 10 sixes in the final and broke Royal Challengers Bangalore's 2016 record

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 title on May 27 after decisively beating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). There were a number of records broken in the final showdown against SRH but this one probably went unnoticed by many. With 145 sixes in IPL 2018, CSK broke Royal Challengers Bangalore’s (RCB) record of most sixes by a team in a season.

RCB batsmen struck 142 sixes in 2016. They are followed by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) with 130 sixes in 2018, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) with 127 sixes in 2014 and Mumbai Indians (MI) with 120 sixes in 2015.

CSK batsmen recorded 10 sixes in the final against SRH and went past RCB’s tally. The centurion Shane Watson struck 8 of these sixes whereas Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu struck one each.

ALSO READ: IPL Impact: At 36, Shane Watson Still Good Enough To Play For Australia, Says Marcus Stoinis

Watson is only behind Delhi Daredevils’ (DD) Rishabh Pant on the list of most sixes hit by a batsman. Pant had 37 sixes whereas Watson had 35 sixes followed by Rayudu with 34 sixes. CSK are the only team who have three players on the list of top 10 players most sixes.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018 Champions Chennai Super Kings Receive Grand Welcome In Chennai – WATCH

Six-hitting has been top-notch this season. The most of sixes hit by a batsman the previous season was 26.