IPL 2018: After Steve Smith, David Warner Steps Down As Captain Of SRH. Who Will Lead The Orange Army?

There are quite a few contenders for it, which include Wriddhiman Saha, Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson among others

It seems David Warner has taken the Steve Smith route and stepped down as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, days before the IPL kicks off. The Australian vice-captain was party to the ball-tampering saga that took place during the 3rd Test against South Africa. The incident has left the cricketing world in tatters.

The incident involved the “leadership group” of the Australian cricket team, but on the field, the actual act was committed by Cameron Bancroft.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians’ Jasprit Bumrah Copies Sanjay Dutt’s Style Ahead Of IPL 2018

Earlier, Steve Smith was asked to step down as captain of Rajasthan Royals following the controversy and Ajinkya Rahane was appointed the new captain. The question now is who will replace David Warner as the leader of the orange army? There are quite a few contenders for it, which include Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson and Wriddhiman Saha among others. In all probability, these three-star cricketers will be front-runners for the job.

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni vs Mohammad Shahzad: Who Is The King Of The Helicopter Shot? Decide For Yourself

“In light of recent events, David Warner has stepped down as captain of SunRisers Hyderabad. The new captain of the Team will be announced shortly,” said K.Shanmugam, CEO of the SunRisers Hyderabad.

Sunrisers Hyderabad is a formidable team in the IPL and would be looking to go all the way this year. They lost in the playoffs in 2017 and would surely like to go a step further this year. It remains to be seen who steps into Warner’s shoes. According to reports, the announcement will come in shortly.