It's Confirmed! Dinesh Karthik To Captain Kolkata Knight Riders

After a lot of speculations, Kolkata Knight Riders have finally named their new captain Dinesh Karthik. So it seems KKR is entering a new phase after Gautam Gambhir successfully led the franchise to 2 Indian Premier League titles. This also happens to be a new-look KKR barring a few players like Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Robin Uthappa and Kuldeep Yadav.

ALSO READ: Here’s why Chris Lynn’s shoulder injury is a wake-up call for KKR to look for another captain in IPL 2018

So what may be the factors that tilted things in favour of the Tamil Nadu cricketer?

It is not the first time he will be captaining a squad. He has been a captain for his state side in Ranji Trophy, that must have made him a heavyweight contender. Karthik also has captaining experience in IPL, he was the vice-captain of Delhi Daredevils in the past. He is also a keeper, which will give him a better view and understanding of match situations.

Karthik compiled 361 runs at an impressive average of 36.1 in IPL last season when he played for Gujarat Lions last year. After KKR CEO Venky Mysore made the announcement, the new captain Karthik said,

“KKR has done well consistently in the last ten years. The team has a great legacy. I am really happy and honoured to lead this side. We have a good blend of youth and experience. We are looking forward to work under coach Jacques Kallis. All the foreign players are really good too. I will try to take the team forward from where Gautam Gambhir left.”

ALSO READ: Shardul Thakur travels in a Mumbai local, passengers Google to double-check his identity

KKR Squad: Dinesh Karthik (C), Robin Uthappa (VC), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Singh Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searless, Apoorv Vijay Wankhade, Ishank Jaggi