Indian squad for one-off test against Bangladesh announced, Abhinav Mukund returns after 5 years

The squad-list came with a surprise as Abhinav Mukund has made a come back after 5 years in the test squad.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming one-off test match against Bangladesh, scheduled to start from February 9.

In a meeting convened by the BCCI CEO Rahul Johri, which held at Delhi, the 16-men squad was announced and the list came with a surprise as Abhinav Mukund has made a come back after 5 years in the test squad. However, Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out the squad.

In the absence of Dhawan, Mukund will be the third opener in the 16-man squad. The southpaw had scored 849 runs in 14 innings at an average of 65.30 – which included four centuries and three half-centuries in the recently concluded Ranji Trophy season. He played Test for India in 2011.

The wicket-keeper in the squad will be Wriddhiman Saha this time. Saha is fit and in form following the match-winning double century in the Irani Cup has returned to the side. While his inclusion has led Parthiv Patel out of the squad.

The other surprise is the selection of Rahane. Rahane made a return as well after being ruled out of the final two Tests against England with a fracture in his right index finger. Offspinner Jayant Yadav was ruled out of the final Test against England in Chennai due to a hamstring injury while Vijay injured his shoulder during the final Test and didn’t open the innings. But now, both the players are fit enough to face the Bangladesh team in Hyderabad.

The spin attackers include R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra and Jayant Yadav, the pace brigade consists of Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya. Mohammed Shami, who is undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury, does not find a spot. He has been out of action since the third Test against England.

Earlier this day, the selection committee meeting was delayed by four hours as the BCCI joint secretary Amitabh Chaudhary was not allowed and barred from the meeting.


Virat Kohli, Murli Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wridhhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravinder Jadeja,  Jayant Yadav, Umesh  Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar, Amit Mishra, Abhinav Mukund, Hrdik Pandya