India vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Day 3, Highlights: Kohli, Pujara, Rohit help hosts take a 384-run lead

IND vs SL 2nd Test, Day 3 at Nagpur Highlights: Indian batsmen made a mockery of Sri Lankan bowlers by scoring the highest inning total at the venue

The Day 3 at Nagpur belonged to the Indian batsmen as they walloped Sri Lankan bowlers to take a substantial lead in the second Test. Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara started on Day 3 and did not let the Sri Lankan bowlers make the most of the first session. Pujara got out for 143 runs. But the Indian skipper went on to score his fifth double century in Tests and also his fourth in the calendar year. He equalled Brian Lara’s record of most Test centuries as a captain and Clarke’s record of most Test centuries in a calendar year.

ALSO READ: Murali Vijay dropped by Dilruwan Perera, goes on to score 128. Could this be the series-changing moment? — WATCH

Ajinkya Rahane could not make the most of the opportunity as he got out for just 2 runs. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma made the most of the opportunity and scored his third Test century off 180 balls. India declared their first innings 610 runs for 6 wickets taking a massive lead of 405 runs

ALSO READ: Cheteshwar Pujara completes 1000 Test runs in 2017, heading to become highest run-getter of the year

Now, Sri Lanka face a threat as they might lose the second Test by an innings. Ishant Sharma made sure that the pressure is on Sri Lankan batsmen right from the start as he took the wicket of Sadeera Samarawickrama on the second ball of the innings.

India (Playing XI): Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dasun Shanaka, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage