Revealed: Match referee made a BLUNDER during toss, declared Team India winner instead of Sri Lanka

Team India will in 10 days be playing the mighty Australians which is expected to test this star-studded Indian team

Virat Kohli-led team India romped to yet another victory by 7 wickets in the one-off T20I versus Sri Lanka in Colombo. By winning the match, India whitewashed the home team 9-0 across all formats creating a world record in the process. The Indian team, which is preparing for the 2019 cricket World Cup, according to Virat Kohli, has unearthed new gems in the tournament. Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel’s striking performances clearly hint that they could be the next generation champions if nursed and looked after well.

Now, keeping the prolific show by the Indian Team aside, there’s something which caught our attention majorly! Did you notice the mistake (almost a blunder) that happened at the toss? We bet you did not!

Here is what happened:

When the match referee tossed the coin, Virat Kohli called heads. Karthik, who was conducting the toss, heard India and took over stating that it was heads and asked Virat what he wanted to do. Pycroft, who was the match referee tried to intervene and clarify, but the camera panned towards Virat and Karthik, who asked Virat about his plans. Virat opted to bat first, considering the overcast conditions, he was hoping there would be something for the Pacers to utilise early on. Now, the world has ganged up and are blaming the match referee, who is supposed to be the highest authority, as to why didn’t he step in and rectify the mistake.

So, that is how it eventually stood, Sri Lanka batted first and put on a score of 170, which was competitive, but considering India’s batting depth, one felt they were 30 runs short. India eventually won the match by 7 wickets and ended their campaign in a sweeping manner 9-0.

Team India, will in 10 days, be playing against the mighty Australians who are expected to test this star-studded Indian team.