India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test, Day 4 Highlights: Dhawan-Rahul help India take 49-run lead, IND - 171/1

The Indian pacers took all the 10 wickets and restricted Sri Lanka at 294/10. KL Rahul and Cheteshwar Pujara will resume their batting on day 5 from 171/1

After bundling Sri Lanka in the second session of the fourth day, Team India came back in a completely new avatar. Indian openers KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan gave a massive start and troubled the Lankan bowlers a lot. Unlike their performance in the first innings, both the batsmen got their respective fifties went 100 runs without losing a wicket.

In the third session, Dhawan changed the gear and amplified his batting. With the help of 2 sixes and 11 fours he crossed the 90-run milestone and heading towards his 7th Test ton. But he wasn’t that lucky and lost his wicket to Dasun Shanaka while playing on 94.

On the other hand, KL Rahul is currently playing on 73 alongside Cheteshwar Pujara. Both the batsmen will resume their batting on day 5 from 171/1 (39.3 overs).

Earlier, the Indian pace attack dominated in the first session on day four. Sri Lanka lost 4 important wickets including skipper Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, and Dilruwan Perera. However, towards the end of the session, Rangana Herath anchored the inning and helped the Lankans taking a strong lead.

The Indian pacers took all the 10 wickets and restricted Sri Lanka at 294/10. Mohammad Shami, who could pick a single wicket yesterday, picked up 4. Bhuvi also removed 4 batsmen including Rangana Herath while Umesh Yadav bagged 2.

The game which looked a low-scoring affair earlier seems to have become a high-scoring one now. The weather conditions are decent and a good encounter is excepted to happen on the final day.

India Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Sri Lanka Playing XI:  Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dasun Shanaka, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage