India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test, Day 3 Highlights: Play called off due to bad light, Lanka - 165/4

India v Sri Lanka 1st Test, Day 3: India got all out for 172 in the first session. The Lankans had a strong start and concluded their inning at 116/4, trailing by 7 runs

The third day of the India vs Sri Lanka got called off due to bad light in the third session on November 18. Earlier in the first session, Cheteshwar Pujara’s got his 16th Test half century by hitting a four. However, moments after getting his fifty, his batting came to an end in the first hour of the play as Lahiru Gamange bowled him out in the 38th over. After his dismissal, Ravindra Jadeja and Wridhhiman Saha spent some good time at the crease and took the Indian total beyond 100 runs. Saha and Jadeja added 48 runs to the 7th wicket. In the 52nd over, spinner Dilruwan Perera dismissed Jadeja on 22 and removed Saha in the same over.

A few overs later, Suranga Lakmal struck again and found found his 4th victim. He dismissed Bhuwaneshwar Kumar on 13 while Mohammad Shami was the last man to lose his wicket to Lahiru Gamange in the 60th over. India lost rest of the 5 wickets in the first session and were all out for 172.

In the second session, the Lankans began much better than the men in blue. The opening pair of Dimuth Karunaratne and Sadeera Samarwickrama added 29 runs to the first wicket.

Later, in the third session, Angelo Mathews and Lahiru Thirimanne dominated Indian bowlers in the second session and scored their respective half centuries. They made a 99-run partnership which was then broken by Umesh Yadav who hunted both Mathews and Thirimanne down.

Skipper Dinesh Chandimal (13) and wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella (14) were at the crease when the game was called off. On day four, the Lankans will resume there innings from 165/4.

India Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Sri Lanka Playing XI:  Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dasun Shanaka, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage