India are in a comfortable position with 317/4 at the end of Day 1

Kohli and Pujara consolidate after initial breakthroughs

Owing to centuries from skipper Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara, India ended day 1 with 317/4 on the board. James Anderson provided the much-needed breakthrough for England as he dismissed Cheteshwar Pujara for 119. He also dismissed Ajinkya Rahane in a similar fashion. Rahane added 23 before getting out.  Captain Virat Kohli is at the crease with 151* along with Ashwin who has 1 run to his name.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli completed their centuries on the first day of the second Test match against England. While Kohli completed his 14th, Pujara hit his 10th ton. With their effort, India were at a comfortable position post tea.

Post Lunch, both Pujara and Kohli completed their half-centuries. Their 130 run partnership helped India post 150 after initial setbacks. The duo had added 70 runs as India went to Lunch at 92/2. Kohli struck five boundaries for his 35* while Pujara hit four boundaries for his 37*.

Indian openers were sent back early as Stuart Broad and James Anderson struck for England. KL Rahul was the first wicket to go down when he was caught by Stokes on Broad’s bowling. Rahul didn’t contribute to the Indian scorecard and India were 6/1. Murali Vijay added 20 to his name before he was caught by Stokes on Anderson’s bowling. With 22/2, captain Kohli and in-form Cheteshwar Pujara were at the crease.

Earlier in the day, India had won the toss and elected to bat first in the second Test. England made one change to their line-up as James Anderson was included in place of Chris Woakes. The England team comprises of Alastair Cook, Haseeb Hameed, Joe Root, Ben Duckett, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Zafar Ansari, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad and James Anderson.

Debutant Jayant Yadav has been included in the team in place of Amit Mishra and KL Rahul makes a comeback post injury as Gautam Gambhir sits out. Indian team includes Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Jayant Yadav, Cheteshwar Pujara and Wriddhiman Saha.