Revealed: Ashish Nehra has been selected for T20I's vs Australia. Here's why

Ashish Nehra's inclusion opens doors of hope for players like Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj to perhaps be bestowed one last chance

After the Virat Kohli-led Team India humbled the visitors 4-1 at home, the eyes have certainly shifted to the shortest format of the game where the hosts have already announced the team for the 3 T20I’s. Earlier, India won the final ODI at Nagpur by 7 wickets, thanks to Rohit Sharma’s maverick 125 off 109 balls. But it was Hardik Pandya who bagged the Man of the Series award on the back of his all-round performance throughout the series. Pandya scored 222 runs and picked 6 wickets. Apart from him Kuldeep Yadav has also been the other story of the tournament, he took a hat-trick and Chahal was there for company. Ahead of the T20Is kickstarting from October 7, Team India has made some big changes. Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina did not find places in the squad, but old warhorse Ashish Nehra returned to the team.

The 38-year old veteran’s selection has caught the eye of fans.

“Ashish Nehra played the last full T20 series against England earlier this year. He was in contention to play Champions Trophy but an injury during IPL put paid to his hopes. India’s last two T20s were one-off games against West Indies and Sri Lanka, so Ashish wasn’t picked,” a BCCI official spoke on selection matters told PTI on condition of anonymity.

“Ashish if fit was due for a comeback as and when there would have been a three-match T20 series. There isn’t anyone craftier than Ashish and when it comes to his selection, it’s about fitness and not form. Check records, Ashish has never been dropped because of poor form,” the official further added.

Here’s the Indian squad for three T20Is against Australia:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.