India v New Zealand, 2nd T20I Preview: Playing XI, stats & all you need to know

The match starts at 1900 hrs, stay tuned to for all the live updates

After taking a 1-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series, Virat Kohli’s team India is ready to lock horns for the second time at Rajkot on November 4. India beat the visitors by 52 runs in the 1st T20I. Shikhar Dhawan was awarded the Man of the Match title for his incredible 80 off 52 balls. The Indian bowlers too have been firing in unison. Bhuvneshwar Kumar may have had a one-off bad game but he has been the pick of the Indian bowlers this season.


India: The top order and the death over bowling.

New Zealand: The spinners, Ish Sodhi and Santner.


India: Nothing, in particular, may be ground fielding can be sharper.

New Zealand: The top order has not fired in unison. The bowlers have not picked up enough wickets to trouble the Indian batsman and the fielding have also been off at times.

Pitch: The Rajkot pitch would be fairly on the dry side. It will allow spinners to get into the game, but it promises to be a run fest.

When and where is the second T20I between India and New Zealand being played?

India will play New Zealand in the third T20I at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on 4 November.

Where do I watch the India vs New Zealand clash live?

The match will be broadcast live on television on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD also Star Sports 3.

When will live coverage of the match start?

The live broadcast of the match will start at 7:00 pm IST.

Where can I follow the match online?

The match will be streamed online on

Records to watch out for:

Virat Kohli is 12 runs shy of becoming the 2nd-highest scorer in T20I history. Indian skipper will go past Tillakaratne Dilshan (1,889). Brendon McCullum (2,140) is still ahead with pretty good margin.

Rohit Sharma needs 28 runs adrift of becoming the 2nd Indian to reach 1,500 T20I runs. Kohli was obviously the first.

MS Dhoni (1,232 runs) needs 76 runs to go past Suresh Raina (1,307) and secure the 3rd spot among Indians in T20I in terms of runs. Kohli and Rohit are the top two.

Yuzvendra Chahal (14) needs 4 wickets to become the highest wicket-taker this year. Rashid Khan and Kesrick Williams (17 each) head the list.

Tim Southee needs 4 wickets to reach the 50-wicket mark. He will become the 2nd New Zealander to do so, after Nathan McCullum (58 wickets).

Ish Sodhi (5) needs 2 wickets to surpass Daniel Vettori (6), who has most wickets in India-New Zealand encounters. Mitchell Santner has 4 wickets.

Ross Taylor (42 catches) needs 3 catches to have most catches as a specialist fielder. Only AB de Villiers (44) has more.


Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul.

New Zealand:
Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

The match commences at 7 pm IST.