India beat New Zealand by 6 wickets, Bhuvneshwar, Dhawan, Karthik star as series is level at 1-1

Virat Kohli-led team India has levelled the series 1-1, as eyes now shift to Kanpur for what promises to be a mouthwatering decider

India beat New Zealand by 6 wickets and now all eyes will shift to the decider at Kanpur.Earlier in the day, amidst pitch fixing allegations of the Pune wicket, New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat first in the 2nd One Day International. With Virat Kohli-led team India looking for a win to level the series, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah answered the captain’s call and made early inroads in the New Zealand top order. Kane Williamson too was dismissed early by Bumrah for 3 runs. New Zealand was reduced to 27 for 3. It was down to the heroes from the first match, Ross Taylor and Tom Latham started to get things back on track. Taylor departed just when he was looking set, he departed for 21. Latham was the next to depart for 38. That is when Nicholls and Grandhomme brought some calmness to the wreck, they scored 41 and 42 respectively.They finally set India a target of 231, which did not look good enough for a batting order like India’s.  From the Indian point of view, Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the pick of the bowlers getting 3 wickets.

India started to chase but lost Rohit Sharma early, with the score on 22. Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan played attacking cricket and brought up a 50-run partnership, a partnership that meant the nerves in the dressing room was calmed. But Kohli had a loss in concentration, chasing a widish delivery, only to edge it to the wicketkeeper. He departed for 29 runs. But Dhawan brought up his 50 along with Dinesh Karthik, but departed for 68, trying to up the ante.

Hardik Pandya joined a set Karthik. Karthik brought up his 50, but at the other end, Hardik Pandya was out for 30 when the score was 204. Pandya opted for a sweep which led to his downfall.

By then India was almost there when MS Dhoni walked into the middle. MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik remained unbeaten on 64, 18. India wins by 6 wickets and now all eyes will shift to the decider at Kanpur.