Imran Tahir, one of the few cricketers whose exuberant celebrations can become a talking point, has unfortunately left red-faced this time. Turns out, he ended up celebrating a catch, despite no ball.
In the 6th over of South Africa’s tour match against Prime Minister’s XI Kagiso Rabada bowled a bouncer to Josh Philippe. The 21-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman took the aerial route and pulled the ball towards fine leg. The umpire immediately called it a no ball but Tahir remained unaware, having his eyes on the ball.
The 39-year-old covered a few yards and took the catch. Then, he turned towards the crowd and celebrated it by showing his name written on the back of the jersey. While the leg-spinner was busy with his celebration, his teammate called his name to return the ball. The Aussies were smart enough to sneak another run because of Tahir’s ignorance.
As soon as he realised that it was a no ball he threw it towards the batting end. By then, however, the spectators were laughing at the whole episode as Tahir was fielding near the boundary rope. Not just the crowd, but his teammates Rabada and wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock could not stop themselves from laughing; as did the commentators, who trolled the South African simultaneously.
Here’s the video of the comical incident:
— FOX SPORTS Cricket (@FoxCricket) October 31, 2018
Twitter was not going to let this go easily. Tahir had it coming!
— Hayden Flint (@Haydos_86) October 31, 2018
IN THE AIR, CAUGHT.
BUT it doesn’t count, Kagiso Rabada over stepped the line by a big margin.
Imran Tahir the man who took the catch, having a bit of a chat (banter?) with the crowd. #ProteasInAUS
— Lunga Kupiso (@KupisoLunga) October 31, 2018
It’s a practice game. Simmer down champ
— Mike Scolz (@skulzy87) October 31, 2018
You can take the cricketer out of Pakistan but you can’t take the Pakistan out of a cricketer. #PMXIvSA
— Nathan Dowd (@NathanJDowd) October 31, 2018
Look where Imran Tahir was fielding against Australia PMXI, he took a catch off Rabada and started showing his name on his Shirt to the crowd , he wasn’t aware that Ball was called No Ball until then batsmen completed the second run #AUSvSA pic.twitter.com/I5INW9RjHX
— Abhijeet (@TheYorkerBall) November 3, 2018