ICC Women Cricket Awards 2017: Ellyse Perry wins Cricketer of the Year, Mithali Raj finds place in ICC ODI team

Surprisingly, Mithali Raj did not win the ICC ODI cricketer of the year award despite her stellar performance

On December 21, 2017, International Cricket Council (ICC) announced awards for the current year to teams and players for their achievement in the sport. Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry, who has had a wonderful year so far, became the ICC Women Cricketer of the Year this time around. She became the first batswoman to score a double century in a day-night Test while playing in Ashes 2017-18.

Amy Satterthwaite has been selected as the ODI Player of the Year despite scoring just one century and two half-centuries in the calendar year. One might argue that Indian skipper Mithali Raj has been more consistent in ODI cricket as compared to Satterthwaite. Mithali scored a total of 9 half-centuries and 1 centuries in ODI.

Australian opener Beth Mooney got rewarded for her performance in the three-T20I series against England where she registered scores of 86*, 17 and 117*. She also won the ICCs’ emerging player of the year award.

While Mithali made it to ODI team of the year as a top-order batter, India’s Harmanpreet Kaur too found a place in the T20I squad. There was only one Indian player who found a spot in both the teams. The left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht was picked in both ODI and T20I squads.

Here is the full list of awards –

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s cricketer of the year – Ellyse Perry (Australia) (this is the first time this trophy, introduced in Rachael’s memory, has been awarded)

ICC Women’s ODI player of the year – Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)

ICC Women’s T20I player of the year – Beth Mooney (Australia)

ICC Women’s emerging player of the year – Beth Mooney (Australia)

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli edges past Shah Rukh Khan to become the most valuable celebrity brand in India

ICC Women ODI team of the year – Tammy Beaumont (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Mithali Raj (India), Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (c) (England), Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Ekta Bisht (India), Alex Hartley (England)

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma on the verge of pipping this UNIQUE record of Yuvraj Singh!

ICC Women T20I team of the year – Beth Mooney (wicketkeeper) (Australia), Danielle Wyatt (England), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Stafanie Taylor (captain) (West Indies), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Hayley Mathews (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Australia), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Ekta Bisht (India)