ICC Awards 2017: Virat Kohli ODI Cricketer of the Year, Steven Smith, Rashid Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal on the winners list too

Here's the full list of ICC Awards 2017

ICC has announced the coveted ICC awards 2017. Indian skipper Virat Kohli and Australian skipper Steven Smith have been awarded the ODI and Test career of the year.

ODI Cricketer of the Year

It was an obvious choice. Virat Kohli has been named as the ODI Cricketer of the Year. Kohli scored 1,460 runs in 26 ODIs averaging at 76.84 with the help of 6 centuries and 7 half-centuries. He has also been awarded with Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. The other contenders for the record were Joe Root, Rashid Khan and Hasan Ali.

Test Player of the Year

No surprises here as well. Australian skipper Steven Smith has been named as ICC Test Player of the Year. Smith broke numerous records during the Ashes 2017-18. He was the highest run-scorer in the year 2017 with 1,305 runs to his name at a staggering average of 76.76 including 6 centuries and 3 half-centuries. Other contenders for the award were Virat Kohli, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, Nathan Lyon, Kagiso Rabada and James Anderson.

T20I Performance of the Year

Yuzvendra Chahal’s  record spell of  6 for 25 in a T20I match against England has been adjudged as the ICC T20I performance of the year. The other contenders for the award were Rashid Khan for his 5 for 3 spells against Ireland, Sri Lanka’s Asela Gunaratne’s match-winning knock of 84 runs from 46 balls against Australia, Rohit Sharma’s century against Sri Lanka and Evin Lewis’ 125 off 62 balls against India.

ALSO READ: Twitter erupts as Lungisani Ngidi’s 6-for leads South Africa to a comprehensive 135-run win over India

T20I Associate cricketer of the year

Afghanistan bowler Rashid Khan has been named the Associate Cricket of the Year. The 19-year-old stunned the world with his leg-spin and took 43 wickets in 17 ODIs and 60 overall including 17 wickets in 10 T20Is in the year 2017. The other contenders for the award were Scotland skipper Kyle Coetzer and Ireland batsman William Porterfield.

ALSO READ: Cheteshwar Pujara becomes the first Indian batsman to get run-out twice in a Test match, here’s the full list!

Emerging player of the year

Pakistan fast bowler Hasan Ali has been named as the Emerging Player of the Year. He bowled brilliantly and took 13 wickets in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 guiding them to their maiden tournament title. Other contenders for the award were Shadab Khan, Kuldeep Yadav and Dawid Malan.

Kohli has won the award earlier as well. Ravichandran Ashwin won the award previous year.