Cricketer Mohammed Shami allegedly attacked, abused over parking issue outside his home

The police have identified the miscreants as Jayanta Sarkar, Swarup Sarkar and Shiva Pramanik after going through the CCTV footage.

In a shocking incident, Indian cricketer Mohammed Shami was allegedly abused by three youngsters near his residence in South Kolkata’s Katjunagar over a parking issue. They also allegedly attacked the care taker of Shami’s residence. The incident took place on July 15 when the Indian pacer was returning to his house with his family.

According to the Times of India report, the cricketer stopped his car in front of the apartment’s gate and was waiting for the caretaker to clear the way to his garage. Meanwhile, a man on a bike allegedly started arguing with Shami’s driver for parking the car in the middle of the way and blocking the road. Soon their argument turned ugly and Shami, who was sitting inside the car, intervened to wrap up the matter.

A few minutes later, the man who was arguing with Shami’s driver gathered some of his friends and arrived at Shami’s residence to seek revenge. “The group of men tried to enter his house forcefully and started abusing the cricketer,” media reports said. The gatekeeper present on duty was also beaten up while stopping these men from entering his residence. The men finally left after some time after they failed to enter his house but the entire episode was captured on the CCTV camera installed at the gate.

Later, Shami’s wife lodged an FIR at Jadhavpur Police Station. The police instantly took action and identified those people as Jayanta Sarkar, Swarup Sarkar and Shiva Pramanik after going through the CCTV footage. As learned from the reports, all the three accused run a salon in the nearby area.

Mohammad Shami is currently a prominent member of the Indian cricket team. He recently made a comeback in the ICC Champions Trophy after recovering from injury. He has also been included in the Indian squad which is going to Sri Lanka to play a bilateral series which consists of 3 Tests, 5 ODIs and 1 T20I.

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on