Pakistan is playing Sri Lanka in an all-Asian quarter final in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Both the teams need to win this to enter the semis for a date with hosts England. Pakistan won the toss and Sarfaraz Ahmed chose to bowl first. Pakistan were heavy in their bowling department and Sri Lanka were batting heavy, hence it was poised to be a mouthwatering clash. Lankans did not get off to a good start as they lost Gunathilaka early for 13 runs. Dickwella scored 73 and Matthews scored 39 and Junaid Khan picked 3 wickets and Amir piked two wickets. But what caught our attention was the fact that it seemed Thisara Perera was out as Sarfaraz Ahmed had gathered the ball but from another angle it showed that the catch was spilled. Junaid Khan went up in appeal and the umpire referred it upstairs, which clearly showed it was not out as Sarfaraz Ahmed has not gathered the ball, yet he appealed and that is what was surprising.
As we speak, Sri Lanka are 214 for 8 in the 45th over and it seems they want to collect as much as possible in this must-win match. If they score 240 it will be a decent score to bowl at. But after that Sarfaraz incident Twitter is calling him a cheat.
U drop catch & Go to 3rd Umpire
Ur Captain this is not suit on u
Shame On You
— Nazim Divan (@NazimDivan) June 12, 2017
Sarfaraz Ahmed prevents ‘Rashid Latif’ gaffe #PAKvSL
— Navneet Mundhra (@navneet_mundhra) June 12, 2017
— jagatdeep pattnaik (@JagatdeepP) June 12, 2017
— Subhayu Dido Sen (@AsleeDidoSen) June 12, 2017
— Anil (@anilj1994) June 12, 2017
— Jesteen James (@JesteenJ) June 12, 2017