Bhuvneshwar Kumar to marry Nupur Nagar on November 23, released from Indian Test squad

Bhuvneshwar Kumar will not take any further part in the ongoing Test series against Sri Lanka

Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar is all set to tie the knot with Nupur Nagar on November 23. The right-arm pacer was adjudged the Man-of-the-Match in the first Test against Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens for his career-best match haul of 8/96. On November 20, he announced his wedding date in a video posted by his teammate and opener Shikhar Dhawan on Instagram.

Bhuvneshwar will not take any further part in the ongoing Test series. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed this news and in its statement said that Bhuvneshwar Kumar was released from the Indian Test team which is currently playing Sri Lanka in three Tests.

ALSO READ: India vs Sri Lanka: BCCI re-schedules first two ODIs due to inclement weather

Interestingly, Shikhar Dhawan, who missed out on a 100 by six runs in the second innings, will also be not available for the selection in the second Test match starting from November 24 in Nagpur.

Lo ji ban gya ek aur joru ka ghulam @imbhuvi ..__Wish you a very happy married life bro..___

A post shared by Shikhar Dhawan (@shikhardofficial) on

The BCCI said in a statement,

The BCCI would like to inform that Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan have been released from India’s Test team. The duo made a request to the selectors and the team management to release them owing to personal reasons.

Dhawan, however, will be available for selection for the third Test in New Delhi.

Uncapped middle-order batsman Vijay Shankar was named as Bhuvneshwar’s replacement.

ALSO READ: India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test, Day 5 Highlights: Match drawn after play stopped due to bad light

Bhuvneshwar got engaged to Nupur Nagar in Greater Noida on October 4. The ceremony was attended by the couple’s close friends and families. Dhawan and Bhuvneshwar played together for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Meanwhile, the first Test match between India and Sri Lanka ended in a draw. The three-match series now stands at 0-0.

India Test squad for the second Test: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul, M Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice Captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli gets his 50th international century with a six and Twitter floods with wishes. Read reactions