BCCI Announces 18-Man Test Squad For England, Rishabh Pant Gets Maiden Test Call-Up

Indian skipper Virat Kohli will have a hard time selecting the team for the upcoming Test series against England

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced India’s Test squad for upcoming Test series against England. The squad comprises of 18 players including two debutantes — Rishabh Pant and Shardul Thakur. One big name has been excluded from the Test squad. Rohit Sharma will not be donning the whites and will be returning to India. Also, Mohammed Shami makes a comeback into the squad.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is still doubtful for the Test series despite being selected in the squad. Bhuvneshwar did not play in the limited overs format because of a stiff back. The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) fast bowler’s risked his fitness by playing in the third ODI.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli might have a headache selecting the two spinners, seeing the form Kuldeep Yadav is currently in. Karun Nair will too make a comeback. This might be the triple-centurion’s last chance to prove his worth. Pujara has been selected despite ordinary performances in county circuit.

The middle order conundrum continues for India with KL Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane, Nair and Dinesh Karthik in the team. Seeing the form Rahul is in, he should be given chances but it will be interesting to see whether he gets a place in the top order or middle order.

Jasprit Bumrah, too, is unfit. The pace department is expected to be tweaked for the Test series.

This will be India’s ultimate test as the No.1 side. The spotlight will be on Kohli once again as he faces James Anderson. The last time Kohli toured England, he failed miserably. If India are to win this Test series, Kohli’s form will be crucial.

ALSO READ: Kohli Drops Rahul, Calls It ‘Tactical Move’; Karthik Makes ODI Comeback. Right Move?

India’s 18-man Test squad —
Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur