Australia vs Sri Lanka 2017 Schedule: SL tour AUS for T20I series

Sri Lanka recently won the T20I series against South Africa by 2-1, Lasith Malinga returning into the side will strengthen the touring side.

Sri Lanka are to play a three-match T20I series against Australia starting February 17. Sri Lanka are in fine form after winning three-match T20I series against South Africa on their tour in January by 2-1. On the other hand, Australia played their previous T20I series against South Africa.

Australia played their previous T20I against India in T20 World Cup 2017 in the virtual quarter-final of the tournament. Opener Aaron Finch will be leading the side in the series. He had a decent Big Bash League (BBL) 2016-17.

The talking point before the series is Lasith Malinga’s return to the side. Malinga is well-renowned death bowler, his experience will be invaluable for a rather inexperienced Sri Lankan side. However, bad news for the tourists is that all-rounder Angelo Mathews has been ruled out of the tournament due to injury.

BBL winners Perth Scorchers is included in the side after his splendid performance in BBL 2016-17. Perth Scorchers won the title this time around.

Upul Tharanga will be captaining the Sri Lankan side on the tour. They recently lost the ODI series to South Africa by 0-5.

Date Fixture Venue Time
February 17 Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne 2:10 IST
February 19 Australia vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I Simonds Stadium, Gellong, Victoria 1:50 IST
February 22 Australia vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 2:20 IST



Australia: Aaron Finch(c), Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Michael Klinger, Ben Dunk, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga(c), Vikum Sanjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Mendis, Dilshan Munaweera, Sachith Pathirana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Lakshan Sandakan, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Isuru Udana