Australia announce ODI, T20I squad for India tour with no Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc; include two new faces

Australia will be touring India for the limited overs tournament with a rather young side and probably World Cup 2019 selection in mind

Australia announced their ODI and T20I squad for their tour of India which will take place in September-October. The ODI squad has 14 players whereas the T20I squad has 13. Skipper Steven Smith will be leading the Australian side whereas David Warner will be the vice-captain. Chris Lynn and Mitchell Starc have been excluded from the squad due to their injuries. The Australian selectors have decided to give young cricketers a chance to show their mettle.

According to Australia’s national Selector Travis Hohns, “We believe the panel has selected a strong squad to face the tough Indian conditions, that has the right mix of pace and spin,”.

Star players make comeback

Hons told media, “Nathan brings raw pace to the side with good variation. It is great to see him back from injury and we are hopeful he will have a big impact in this series,”

“James Faulkner is a solid One-Day campaigner and is very familiar with subcontinent conditions, coming off a very good tour of Sri Lanka last year. We hope that he will take his chance in returning to the one-day side,” he added.

Two new faces in the squad

Jason Behendroff in the T20I squad and Hilton Cartwright in the ODI squad will be making their debuts for the Australian team in the limited overs format. They have a fantastic T20 and List A record, which might prove to be an add-on, given their experience in Big Bash T20 League.

According to Australia’s national selector, “Hilton is an aggressive striker of the ball and we think his game will be well suited to the transition to short-form cricket”.

Update on Mitchell Starc

Australia’s Bupa Support Staff Physiotherapist David Beakley said, “We have recently reviewed the progress of Mitchell’s right foot injury and the healing process has been slower than we would have liked. Consequently, in order to ensure his best possible preparation for the Ashes, he will be unavailable for the Tour of India and will continue his rehab in Australia with an aim to have him play for New South Wales in the domestic one-day cup.”

Australia’s ODI Squad
Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), Adam Zampa

Australia’s T20I Squad

Steve Smith (c), David Warner. Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine (wk), Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa