MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli get a similar welcome from the Wankhede crowd - Watch Video

Right after Shikhar Dhawan's dismissal, Virat Kohli entered the field and the way crowd at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, reacted was simply amazing

Team India skipper Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni received a heartwarming welcome at the Wankhede Stadium on October 22 during the first India vs New Zealand ODI. As soon as they stepped into the field to bat in his 200th ODI, the crowd stood up and chanted ‘Kohli Kohli’, ‘Dhoni-Dhoni’ in unison respectively. Dhoni is not new to the chants as he got a similar welcome when he came out to bat at Wankhede Stadium in the ICC World Cup 2011. It was quite nostalgic to witness Dhoni being greeted by the crowd like this. Other than chants of the former and the current skipper, the crowd also chanted ‘Sachin-Sachin’ during the first ODI honouring India’s cricketing legend Sachin Tendulkar.

After winning the toss Kohli opted to bat first. Since Shikhar Dhawan was back after missing the entire ODI series against Australia, he was expected to play a decent knock. However, he had to return pavilion in the fourth over itself after Trent Boult took his wicket. Dhawan ended up scoring 9 runs off 12 balls including a boundary.

Here’s the video of Dhoni entering the field –

Then came Virat Kohli and this is how the crowd reacted on his entry:

Indeed it was a something unexpected and totally surprising. However, players in the dressing room probably were not that happy as the Indian team lost a wicket too early.

14 balls later, India had another blow as Rohit Sharma was bamboozled by an inswinger delivered by Trent Boult. Rohit was left helpless as he was clean bowled and had to go back to the dressing room after scoring 20 runs off 18 balls including two sixes.

Later, Kedar Jadhav joined captain Kohli but he also failed to perform against the Kiwis. Jadhav came at number 4 and managed to score just 12 runs off 25 balls. To a delivery tossed up by Mitchell Santner, Jadhav gave an easy return catch and lost his wicket.

By the time of filing this story, India scored 74 runs after losing 3 wickets. Virat Kohli (29) and Dinesh Karthik (1) were at the crease.

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on