Indian Film Festival 2017: Aamir Khan nominated in Best Actor category for Dangal, Akshay Kumar misses the cut

The nomination list for Indian Film Festival 2017 to be held in Melbourne is out. Check out here

Aamir Khan has been nominated in the Best Actor category for his role in Dangal at the upcoming Indian Film Festival that will be held from August 10 to 22 in Melbourne. Alia Bhatt has been named among probables in the Best Actress category for her role of Kiara in Gauri Shinde’s Dear Zindagi. Shockingly, Akshay Kumar failed to earn a nomination despite winning a National Award for his role of a navy officer in Rustom.

The 13-day-long film festival will showcase more than 60 films across 22 languages. Vidya Balan has been named as the brand ambassador of the event. As far as awards are concerned, 51-year-old Aamir has been nominated along with Amitabh Bachchan (Pink), Rajkummar Rao (Trapped), Sushant Singh Rajput (MS Dhoni: An Untold Story), Hrithik Roshan (Kaabil), Lalit Bhel and Adil Hussain (both for Mukti Bhawan).

It is surprising that Akshay could not find a place in the nomination list. The actor had a successful 2016 with his films Airlift, Housefull 3 and Rustom crossing the Rs 100 crore mark. As far as the actresses are concerned, Alia Bhatt was nominated for Dear Zindagi while the jury ignored her portrayal of a Bihari labourer in Udta Punjab. Here is the nomination list in other categories

Best Actress

Alia Bhatt- Dear Zindagi
Vidya Balan-Kahaani 2
Tanishtha Chatterjee- Dr Rakhmabai
Kavya Madhavan- Pinneyum
Ratna Pathak Shah- Lipstick Under My Burkha
Konkona Sen Sharma- Lipstick Under My Burkha

Also read: IIFA Awards nomination list: Aamir Khan, Akshay Kumar shocking omissions, Ranbir Kapoor makes the cut

Best Indie Film

A Billion Colour Story
Loktak Lairembee
Mukti Bhawan
Lipstick Under My Burkha
A Death In The Gunj

Best Director

Nikhil Manjoo-Reservation
Nitesh Tiwari- Dangal
Vikramaditya Motwane- Trapped
N Padma Kumar- A Billion Colour Story
Buddhadeb Dasgupta- Tope
Alankrita Srivastava- Lipstick Under My Burkha
SS Rajamouli- Baahubali: The Conclusion
Konkona Sen Sharma- A Death In The Gunj

Best Film

Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
MS Dhoni: An Untold Story
Baahubali: The Conclusion

Also read: National Film Awards 2017 Highlights: Akshay Kumar, Sonam Kapoor, Mohanlal felicitated

For interesting entertainment and lifestyle videos from InUth, follow us on