Allan Border Medal 2018: Steve Smith gets AB Medal, David Warner is ODI cricketer of the year. Here's full list

Smith received this honour after he led Australia team to a 4-0 victory over England to reclaim the Ashes

Australian cricket captain Steve Smith has been honoured with this year’s Allan Border Medal at an event organised to honour Australian cricketers in Melbourne. The Allan Border Medal is awarded to the most outstanding Australian cricketer of the past season.

Smith, who last month was named the International Cricket Council’s Test Cricketer of the Year, became the fifth player after former skippers Michael Clarke (2005, 2009, 2012, 2013), Ricky Ponting (2004, 2006, 2007, 2009), Shane Watson (2010, 2011) and David Warner (2016, 2017) to win the medal on multiple occasions. This was Smith’s second AB Medal. He previously won it in 2015.

Smith received this honour after he led Australia team to a 4-0 victory over England to reclaim the Ashes. He was also in his prime touch during Australia tour of India earlier in 2017.

Meanwhile, David Warner won the One-Day International Player of the Year for the second consecutive time. In the past year, Warner played 13 innings scored 691 runs at 57.58 strike-rate. He also scored 3 tons.

ALSO READ: Shubhman Gill carries good form post U-19 WC, slams century in Vijay Hazare Trophy

The left-hander accrued 24 votes to win the award by a margin of six from skipper Steve Smith and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

2018 Winner’s List

Allan Border Medal: Steve Smith

Test Player of the Year: Steve Smith

ODI Player of the Year: David Warner

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Beth Mooney

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: George Bailey

T20 Player of the Year: Aaron Finch

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer: Georgia Redmayne

Bradman Young Cricketer: Jhye Richardson

Past Medal Winners List
Glenn McGrath (2000),  Steve Waugh (2001), Matthew Hayden (2002), Adam Gilchrist (2003), Ricky Ponting (2004, 2006, 2007, 2009), Michael Clarke (2005, 2009, 2012, 2013), Brett Lee (2008), Shane Watson (2010, 2011), Mitchell Johnson (2014), Steve Smith (2015), David Warner (2016, 2017)