Goa floor test highlights: 22 MLAs vote for CM Manohar Parrikar, BJP forms govt

BJP led-by Goa CM Manohar Parrikar is all set to prove his majority in the floor test to be conducted in the state assembly today

Days after Manohar Parrikar took oath as the chief minister of Goa, BJP successfully proved his majority the floor test to conducted on March 16 in the state assembly. Parrikar won the trust vote after 22 MLAs including 2 independent candidates supported him while 16 opposed the new Goa CM.

After assembly election results, Manohar Parrikar recently resigned from the post of a Defence Minister and took charge as the chief minister of Goa on March 14.

The Congress had approached the Supreme Court and requested the court to put a stay on Parrikar’s swearing in which was rejected by the apex court. The court had further asked Parrikar to prove his majority within a span of two days. Congress has claimed that they should be invited to form a government because it has emerged as the single largest party in the February 4 elections with 17 MLAs. However, the local parties asserted that they would support BJP if they brought back Manor Parrikar as Goa CM.

Here are the key highlights:

12: 48 PM: “It was only hype possibly because there was a demand that was coming that Digvijaya step down as It was only hype possibly because there was a demand that was coming that Digvijaya step down as General Secretary,” says Manohar Parrikar.

12: 45 PM: Manohar Parrikar refutes Congress’ allegation of stealing mandate and have asserted that Congress never had the numbers.

12: 42 PM: Manohar Parrikar addressing press conference after winning floor test. Watch it here.

12: 28 PM: Goa CM Manohar Parrikar has proved his majority by winning the trust vite in the Assembly. He has won the support of 22 MLAs.

11: 39 AM: Oath taking of MLAs underway at Goa assembly.

11:32 AM: BJP, Manohar Parrikar confident of winning floor test

11: 30 AM: Watch: BJP led Govt in Goa headed by CM Manohar Parrikar faces floor test

11: 20 AM: Rahul Gandhi who was present at the swearing-in ceremony of Amarinder Singh as Punjab CM, Congress leader asserted that BJP had won Goa and Manipur elections by misusing money.

10: 50 AM: Congress leader Vishwajeet Rane has affirmed that he was going to vote for Congress in the floor test.

10: 13 AM: The floor test will begin at 11 AM.

9: 50 AM: Congress has termed Manohar Parrikar’s oath taking ceremony as a  big scam. “This swearing-in ceremony of Manohar Parrikar as the chief minister of Goa is a big scam and BJP has resorted to unfair means. Throughout Goa people are protesting as to why the saffron party did such a low act to come to power, and why is the media not showing all this?,”Om Prakash Mishra told ANI.

9: 36 AM: Congress is likely to stage a protest against while claiming that BJP had stolen mandate of the people. Some Congress leaders have also alleged that BJP had lured Goa MLAs Rs 1,000 crore to form a coalition government in the state.

9: 30 AM: CM Manohar Parrikar reaches state assembly.