Ahead of the confidence vote, O Panneerselvam team members meet Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal and urged him to have secret ballot for confidence vote, the new developments hints that the ongoing political unrest in Tamil Nadu is not going to end anytime sooner.

On February 18, newly appointed Chief Minster of  the state Edappadi Palanisamy will seek a vote of confidence. For the trust vote the speaker has called for a session of Tamil Nadu assembly at 11 am. Palanisamy, close aide of Sasikala took  oath as the new chief minister of the state on February 16 in presence of Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao in Chennai. Besides Palaniswami, 30 other MLAs  also took oath as ministers in the new government.

AIADMK MLAs left Golden Bay resort in Kovathur for Raj Bhavan in Chennai to attend the oath taking ceremony. Hailing from state’s western Kongu belt, Palaniswami is considered a popular name in his gounder community.

Earlier today, AIADMK faction led by Panneerselavm removed Sasikala Natarajan from the primary membership of the party. Its Presidium Chairman E Madhusudanan sacked Sasikala and her nephew TTV Dinakaran and S Venkatesh from their respective party posts.

The 63-year-old leader was elected as AIADMK’s legislature party leader after Sasikala was sentenced to Jail by Supreme court in disproportionate assets case.