Sehwag's fifty to Kallis' unbeaten 90: Here are the stats of first-ever Ice Cricket Tournament

Let's have a look at the statistics of this 2-match rubber held on February 8 and 9 held in St Moritz, in Switzerland’s Engadin valley

For the first time in the history of international cricket, the game was played on ice instead of a lush green ground with a turf. Switzerland’s St Moritz was the venue where a total of 25 players arrived to play the first-ever game of cricket on a frozen lake. Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag led the Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds while former Pakistani skipper Shahid Afridi captained Team Royals.

After a long period of time, it was very exciting to witness veterans like Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Jacques Kallis, Graeme Smith batting like the old days, while the clash between Shoaib Akhtar and Sehwag was probably the best pick from this entire tournament.

ALSO READ: Shahid Afridi asks Indian fan to hold tri-colour correctly, and his gesture is ruling the internet

Since it was the first cricket tournament of its own kind, let’s have a look at the statistics of this 2-match rubber held on February 8 and 9.

First Ball Bowled: Shoaib Akhtar

First Ball Played: Virender Sehwag

First Boundary: Virender Sehwag [to Shoaib Akhtar]

First Six: Virender Sehwag [to Jacques Kallis]

First Wicket: Abdul Razzaq [TM Dilshan c Elliott b Abdul Razzaq (8)]

ALSO READ: ‘It’s not the end of road for me’, Ravindra Jadeja on competition from Kuldeep, Chahal

First Fifty: Virender Sehwag [62 off 31 balls]

Highest Run Getters:

Sl No Player Teams Runs
1 Jacques Kallis Royals 126
2 Owais Shah Royals 117
3 Virender Sehwag Palace Diamonds 108
4 Andrew Symonds Palace Diamonds 107
5 Graeme Smith Royals 81


Highest Wicket Takers:

Sl No Player Team Wickets
1 Abdul Razzak Royals 7
2 Ramesh Powar Palace Diamonds 3
3 Shoaib Akhtar Royals 2
4 Daniel Vettori Royals 1
5 Grant Elliot Royals 1


ALSO READ: Mithali Raj achieves rare feat, becomes first woman cricketer to be a part of most wins in ODIs

Most Sixes:

Sl No Player Team Sixes
1 Owais Shah Royals 7
2 Virender Sehwag Palace Diamonds 5
3 Andrew Symonds Palace Diamonds 5
4 Mohammad Kaif Palace Diamonds 5
5 Jacques Kallis Royals 4


Highest Individual Scores:

Sl No Player Team Runs
1 Jacques Kallis Royals 90*
2 Owais Shah Royals 74*
3 Andrew Symonds Palace Diamonds 67*
4 Virender Sehwag Palace Diamonds 62
5 Graeme Smith Royals 58


ALSO READ: Virat ‘Run Machine’ Kohli breaks Sourav Ganguly, Ricky Ponting’s record during 3rd ODI against South Africa. Here’s the full list


Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds Squad: Virender Sehwag (c), Mohammad Kaif, Lasith Malinga, Michael Hussey, Mahela Jayawardene, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Tillakaratne, Andrew Symonds, Joginder Sharma, Ramesh Powar, Rohan Jain

Royals Squad: Jacques Kallis (c), Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Grant Elliott, Monty Panesar, Graeme Smith, Owais Shah, Abdul Razzaq, Jacques Kallis, Matt Prior, Aidan Andrews