Team India faced humiliating defeat to Pakistan in the Champions Trophy 2017 Finals at the Oval in London on June 18 and now, it’s time to shift the focus on the forthcoming tour to West Indies. Team India is programmed to play a 6-match ODI series with the Caribbeans on their home soil. The series will begin on June 23 and end on July 9th. The Indian squad has already been announced and recently, the West Indies Cricket Board has announced its 13-men squad for the same. The board has decided to deploy the same team against India which played Afghanistan earlier in this month.

Star Windies player like Chris Gayle, DJ Bravo and Kieron Pollard have not found a space in the team. Star pacer Shanon Gabriel too misses the series due to an injury while and now, the Windies have to face the in-form Team India without him. Gabriel also missed the Afghanistan series due to same reason and is currently at recovering stage.

Allrounder Jason Holder will be leading the side which has Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope in the batting top order while players like Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kesrick Williams hold the responsibility of the bowling attack.

West Indies currently holds the 9th rank in the ICC ODI rankings. This was the reason one of the biggest entertainers couldn’t participate in the recently concluded ICC Champions Trophy. This forthcoming series is a chance for the home team to better their standings. Also, this series will help in generating revenue and avoid the qualifying round ahead of the 2019 World Cup.


Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kesrick Williams

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on