Right after defeating the Australians by 2-1 in the Borer-Gavaskar Trophy, the Indian cricket team was bestowed with rewards and acclamations. After retaining the ICC Test Championship mace and receiving a cash price of USD 1 million, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on March 28 congratulated the Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team for retaining the No. 1 position in Test team rankings and registering unbeaten series wins in the home season 2016-17.

In the fourth and the last match of the 4-Test match rubber, India has beaten Australia by eight wickets at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium on March 28. Team India locked the series at 2-1 and lifted the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for the 8th time.

Apart from congratulating the Indian squad, the BCCI has also announced a cash reward for the players for their historic victory against Australia. The team members will be awarded Rs 50 Lakh each while coach Anil Kumble will receive Rs 25 Lakh, and the support staff Rs 15 Lakh each.

It was the decider match between both the teams as prior to this match, both the sides have won one match each. India lost the first game in Pune while made a fighting comeback in Bengaluru thereafter. In the final game, both the Indian bowlers and batsmen designed the road to victory and finally added another feather in the team’s cap. Umesh Yadav took a total of five wickets in this game while Lokesh Rahul hit a half-century in both the innings and helped the team to finish the game remarkably. The stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane showed furious play in the second innings after the early departure of Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Ravindra Jadeja was named as the Player of the tournament for taking a total of 25 wickets in 4 matches and also received the Man of the Match award for his half-century in the first innings and he took 4 wickets in the entire game.