India vs South Africa: What is ‘Pink ODI’ and why it holds special significance for South Africans

Already three-nil down in the six-match series‚ the Proteas will be looking to change the fortunes in the 'Pink ODI'

The fourth One Day International (ODI) match between India and South Africa will be special for hosts South Africans, as it’s scheduled to be a ‘Pink ODI’. The match will be played on February 10.

‘Pink ODI’ is played to raise awareness about breast cancer, and for the benefit of those suffering from the disease. It was first held in 2011, and this will be the sixth such occasion.

In South Africa, ‘Pink ODI’ is considered a must-attend occasions on domestic sports calendar.

It’s officially one more week until Pink Day! Get ready to #PitchUpInPink and show your support for breast cancer patient.#PinkDay #Cancer pic.twitter.com/fOv1wqwjyJ

— AB De Villiers FC_ (@devilliers17fc) 9 February 2018

For ‘Pink ODI’ at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, spectators are strongly encouraged to come decked out in pink attire to show their support to breast cancer awareness.

Here are some interesting facts related to ‘Pink ODI’: –

Already three-nil down in the six-match series‚ the Proteas will be looking to change the fortunes. Team India need just one more victory to script the history as they have never won an ODI series on South African soil.

Helmets for tomorrow’s #MomentumODI #PitchUpInPink pic.twitter.com/wx4Bqr19Rj

— Cricket South Africa (@OfficialCSA) 9 February 2018


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

South Africa: Aiden Markram (Captain), Hashim Amla, Jean Paul Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen (WK), AB de Villiers.