Rajouri Garden bypolls: BJP's Manjinder Singh Sirsa wins, big jolt for AAP

The results for the voting that took place last week for Rajouri Garden bypolls is all set to be announced today. The voting percentage stood at 46.23%

The counting for the Rajouri Garden by-polls is all set to take place on April 13. It would be interesting to see whether Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) would be successful in making an impact or parties including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiromani Akali Dal combination would sweep of the polls.

As far as the voter turnout is concerned, only 46.23% turned up to cast their votes. Last elections, the voter turnout was 72%. “The VVPAT machines, which were used across the 166 polling booths, had to be changed at around 38 places while one EVM was also replaced,” PTI quoted the Chief Electoral officer as saying.

Here are the live updates:

12: 00 PM: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Manjinder Singh Sirsa has won the bypoll in Rajouri Garden seat in the national capital. Manjinder Singh has defeated Congress leader Meenakshi Chandela by a margin of 14652 votes. Meanwhile, in a major blow to Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) finished third.

10: 56 AM: Early Trends: BJP: 30401 followed by Congress

10: 41 AM: BJP workers celebrates as party continues to lead in Rajouri Garden.

10: 30 AM: AAP way behind BJP, continues to be on the third spot.

10: 15 AM: BJP candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa continues to lead, by a margin of 5928 votes, followed by Congress

9: 52 AM: Meanwhile, early trends show BJP leading on 5 out of 10 assembly constituencies in bypolls in 8 states.

9: 45 AM: Here’s what the ECI website says at the moment.

Photo: ECI

Photo: ECI

9: 30: In 2015 : AAP : 55000 ; BJP 45000 ; CONG : 14000

9: 15 AM: Manjinder Singh Sirsa has acquired over 50% of the votes

9: 00 AM: Congress’s Meenakshi Chandela is on the second position while BJP’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa continue to lead.

8: 45 AM: Bharatiya Janata Party Manjinder Singh Sirsa still leading

8: 30 AM: BJP leading with 11266, Congress with 6862, and AAP is currently on the 4th position.

8: 15 AM: BJP candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa leading by 1011 votes

8: 00 AM: Trends suggest Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading followed by Congress.

7: 40 AM: Counting to begin at 8 AM.

7: 30 AM: Counting to begin for Rajouri Garden by-polls soon.