Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians knocked out Kolkata Knight Riders from the Indian Premier League 2017 trophy race after they thrashed them by 6 wickets in Qualifier 2 held at the iconic M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on May 19. Mumbai Indians will now face Rising Pune Supergiant in the finals on May 21.

Earlier, Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and he invited Kolkata to bat first in a must win game for both the side. Kolkata were off to horrendous start as they were reduced to 25/3 in first 6 overs. In the next 4 overs Kolkata were tottering at 43/5.

Ishank Jaggi and Suryakumar Yadav, who came into bat after falling of Grandhomme’s wicket, provided some hope to the Kolkata as the duo put on 40-run partnership for 6th wicket. Ishank Jaggi during his vital 28 off 31 ball knock smashed 3 fours, while Suryakumar Yadav during his stay at the crease scored 2 fours and 1 six.

For KKR, Suryakumar Yadav was the highest run getter with 31 off 25 balls. On the the hand, Mumbai Indians showed superb bowling display to restrict KKR to 107/10 in the quota of 20 overs.

For Mumbai, Karn Sharma was the pic of bowler for picking 4 vital wickets. He picked up wickets of Sunil Narine (10), Gautam Gambhir (12), Colin de Grandhomme (0) and Ishank Jaggi (28) to derail KKR’s innings.

In reply, Mumbai showed temperament and they easily chased down the target with 34 balls remaining.

For Mumbai, Kurnal Pandya top scored with 37 off just 27 balls. Besides Pandya, skipper Rohit Sharma too showed his class and played the knock 26* off 24 balls.

Mumbai will now face Steven Smith-led Rising Pune Supergiant on May 21 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.