The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on July 9 announced the 16-member squad for India’s upcoming tour of Sri Lanka. Star batsman Rohit Sharma and pacer Mohammad Shami were re-called for the Sri Lanka tour scheduled to be held from July 26 to September 6. KL Rahul, who suffered an injury during the fourth Test against Australia earlier this year, also makes a comeback in the Test arena.

Rohit Sharma and Mohammad Shami, who were dropped from the four match Test rubber against Australia in February, replaced middle-order batsman Karun Nair and all-rounder Jayant Yadav for the Sri Lanka tour.

The Virat Kohli-led side is set to play three Test matches, five One-Day Internationals (ODI) and a one-off Twenty20 International during the series. All the three Test matches will be played in Galle, Colombo and Kandy.

Meanwhile, Team India faced a humiliating defeat at the hands of West Indies in one off Twenty20 match at the Sabina Park in Kingston. Evin Lewis’ unbeaten century guide his team West Indies to a comfortable victory over the visitors. Evin Lewis slammed 125 runs in just 62 balls. His innings was laced with six boundaries and 12 sixes.


Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.