Good start puts Team India in commanding position on the opening day of the second cricket Test against Sri Lanka at the Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo on August 3. At stumps, Cheteshwar Pujara, who was nominated for this year’s Arjuna Award, was batting on 128 while Ajinkya Rahane was unbeaten on 103 as the right-handed duo guided India to a strong position, adding 211 runs for the fourth wicket. India ended day 1 at 344/3. India is leading the three Test match series by 1-0.

Earlier, Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and he decided to bat first. The Indians were off to a superb start with openers Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul, who made a comeback in playing XI after he was left out in the first Test match at Galle due to viral fever, handled the Lankan bowlers quite comfortably. The duo put together an opening partnership of 56 runs in just 10 overs. Dhwan was the first victim as he fell off the first ball of the 11th over. Rahul (57 off 82 balls) fell in the third over after lunch. Skipper Kohli too walked back early. He was dismissed after Angelo Mathews took an excellent catch in the slips.

Match Timings

Day 2 of India vs Sri Lanka Second Test at Colombo will start at 10 am IST on August 4.

Where to watch live telecast and streaming of India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test?

India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd Test match, will be broadcast live on Sony Six and other channels of Sony Ten network. The match will be streamed live on

Fall of wickets

INDIA:1-56 (S Dhawan, 10.1 overs), 2-109 (KL Rahul, 30.4 overs), 3-133 (V Kohli, 38.5 overs)


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Abhinav Mukund, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Malinda Pushpakumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Thirimanne