A day after Pakistan lifted the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. The 11-member team has been selected by a jury of cricket experts which includes former cricketers Michael Atherton of England, India’s former captain Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan as well as Lawrence Booth (Editor, Wisden Almanack and cricket writer, The Mail) and Julian Guyer (cricket correspondent, Agence France-Presse), with ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice, as chairman.

Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed has been selected as the skipper of this team while rest of the players in the squad has been selected from the five of the eight participating nations. The jury was appointed to pick a balanced team based on the performances in the tournament. They used digital analysis and statistics for selection and form this team.

The team has four Pakistani players, three from England, three Indians, one Bangladeshi and one from New Zealand as 12th man.

The squad is:

  1. Shikhar Dhawan – INDIA – 338 runs
  2. Fakhar Zaman – PAKISTAN – 252 runs
  3. Tamim Iqbal – BANGLADESH – 293 runs
  4. Virat Kohli – INDIA – 258 runs
  5. Joe Root – ENGLAND – 258 runs
  6. Ben Stokes – ENGLAND – 184 runs/ 3 wickets
  7. Sarfraz Ahmed (C) (WK) – PAKISTAN – 76 runs / 9 dismissals
  8. Adil Rashid – ENGLAND – 7 wickets
  9. Junaid Khan – PAKISTAN – 8 wickets
  10. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – INDIA – 7 wickets
  11. Hassan Ali – PAKISTAN – 13 wickets
  12. Kane Williamson – NEW ZEALAND – 244 runs (12th Man)

Shikhar Dhawan and Fakhar Zaman are the openers of the team. Dhawan has won the Golden Bat for scoring 338 runs in the tournament while Fakhar Zaman scored 252 runs in four matches at a strike-rate of 113. At number 3, 4, and 5 there are Tamim Iqbal, Virat Kohli and Joe Root who scored 293 and 238 runs respectively. (Both Virat and Joe Root have score 238 runs each).

In the bowling department, there are Junaid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hassan Ali who took altogether 28 wickets. Also, spinner Rashid finished with seven wickets with an economy rate of 4.73.

Sarfaraz Ahmed has been appointed as the skipper of the side for brilliant captaincy throughout the tournament. They lost the first game against India by 124 runs but under his captaincy, the Pakistan team emerged as the most prominent team of the tournament and became the new Champions!

For interesting videos from InUth, follow us on Youtube.com/InUthdotcom