Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Pakistan side entered the just concluded eight-team Champions Trophy as the lowest-ranked team at No.8. Everyone predicted that this young Pakistan side would not qualify for the semis and they will be out from the play-offs stage. But, they proved everyone wrong after the thrashed India by mammoth 180 run to lift the Champions Trophy on June 18.This was the first ever Champions Trophy title for Pakistan.

Moreover, this ICC Champions Trophy final win against India helped Pakistan moved to No.6 spot in the International Cricket Council (ICC) One-day International (ODI) rankings, thereby helping them to inch closer to securing a direct entry to the 2019 World Cup in England and Wales.

Pakistan has surpassed Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in the latest ICC ODI rankings helping them to get closer to direct qualification for the 2019 World Cup, to which host England and the next seven highest-ranked sides as on September 30, will get straight entries, news agency IANS reported.

With no major series coming in near future, Pakistan can easily qualify for the 2019 World Cup.

Pakistan has gained four points to move to 95 points as their wins over higher-ranked opponents in the tournament included the one in the final against India and an eight-wicket semi-final victory over England.

There were no other changes in the teams standings led by South Africa, although runners-up India, England and Bangladesh have all lost a point each.

India skipper Virat Kohli continued to top the ODI batsmen’s list followed by Australia’s David Warner, South Africa’s AB de Villiers and England’s Joe Root.

Among the bowlers, India pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah took significant leaps in the ICC ODI bowlers’ list led by Aussie Josh Hazlewood.

While Bhuvneshwar rose four places to share the 19th spot with Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan, Bumrah vaulted 19 places to the No.24 spot.

The 12th edition of the cricket world cup will kick-start on 30 May 2019 and will continue till 15 July 2019. The 2019 World Cup will feature 10 teams.