Shiv Sena’s Vishwanath Mahadeshwar has been elected as the mayor of Mumbai, with the support of BJP on March 8.  He became the 76th mayor of the financial capital of India. Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena won 84 seats of the 227 seats in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation elections happened in February, while the BJP finished second with 82 seats.

Earlier, Mumbai Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis announced that his party BJP will not contest for the mayor post and will extend support to Shiv Sena. Vishwanath Mahadeshwar is a three-time corporator from Santacruz.

“We will not be in the opposition, we will support the ruling party but will not compromise on transparency,” Fadnavis said on March 4.

The special general body meeting of 227 newly-elected corporators picked up the new mayor by show of hands. Vishwanath Mahadeshwar won by 171 votes.

More details awaited.