Bollywood celebrities like Anushka Sharma, veteran actress Rekha, Zoya Akhtar and various politicians including Nitin Gadkiri, Sharad Pawar among others exercise their franchise as the voting in elections to the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) and other 9 civic bodies in several cities of Maharashtra including Maharashtra is underway on February 21.

In this election about 2,275 candidates, which include 1,190 males, 1,084 females and one transgender, are in fray for the 227 seats. 13 political parties including Shiv Sena, MNS, NCP, Congress and BJP among others will contest in this civic body polls. The results of the BMC Elections 2017 will be announced on 23 February.

It is going to be a five corner contest with parties like BJP, Shiv Sena, MNS, NCP and Congress trying to outdo each other in the electoral battle of India’s richest Municipal corporation.

Actress Anushka Sharma took to her Twitter handle to share her picture and captioned it as: “Started my morning by casting my vote. Voting is our duty towards our country & its progress. Pls go out & vote.”

Let’s look at some of the tweets:

Suniel Shetty: “Point a finger at them only when you get this point on your finger! #Vote to earn the right to question!”

Maharashtra: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari casts his vote for Nagpur Municipal Corporation polls

Mumbai: Film director and screenwriter Zoya Akhtar casts her vote at a polling booth in Bandra

Mumbai: MNS Chief Raj Thackeray casts his vote at a polling station in Shivaji Park

Mumbai: Sharad Pawar casts his vote at polling booth no. 214(11) located in Mahalaxmi (West)

Varun Dhawan arrived to cast his vote at a polling booth in Mumbai, says “upsetting that I couldn’t find my name on the voter list”