Before the final countdown to the March 11 assembly election result declaration, Manipur found BJP leading with 25-31 seats in an exit poll survey by Times Now-VMR.

The two-phase election in Manipur ended on March 8 with an overall 86% voting having been recorded in the 60-member House. Although Chief Minister of exudes confidence about winning 2017 polls, The elections in 2017 have been the toughest one for Manipur Chief Minister Okhram Ibobi Singh. This is also the first time that Bharatiya Janata Party has been (BJP) able to create a strong saffron wave in the northeastern state which has been grappling with issues like the economic blockade.

Here are the predictions:

7:05 PM:

6:55 PM:

6:20 PM:

5:58 PM:

5:47 PM: BJP to form govt in Manipur, predicts Times Now

Seat prediction for Manipur: –

India Today: Congress (30-36), BJP (16-22), Others(8-12)
India TV: Congress (17-23), BJP (25-31), Others(9-15)
Times Now: Congress (17-23), BJP (25-31), Others(9-15)
NDTV: Congress (20), BJP (28), Others (12)

Human right activist Irom Sharmila who fought for the removal of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act for over 16 years, also took a dive into politics by launching her party People’s Resurgence Justice Alliance (PRJA). The interesting blend of different issues pertaining since 15 years of congress rule also became agendas and priorities in different manifesto list of different parties.

A large number of voters especially women and youth came forward this time to cast their votes. The major issues that were discussed on the agenda of political parties were the economic blockade and territorial integrity which has been the biggest problem in the Congress-led government.

As per the predictions of one of the exit polls, the Congress is likely to lose its seats and the BJP is expected to make some gains. If current trends are to be believed, the BJP currently has a slight edge over the Congress which won the last elections in 2012.

The term of the current Legislative Assembly ends on 18 March 2017.